Sitcoms Online
Home
News Blog
Message Boards
Photo Galleries
DVD Reviews
Follow us on Twitter or Facebook
Our Sitcom Sites
• Sitcom Links, DVDs and Theme Songs
A / B / C / D / E / F / G /
H / I / J / K / L / M / N /
O / P / Q / R / S / T / U /
V / W / Y / Z / #
Other TV Links
• Merchandise
Purchase TV Series on DVD or VHS
Purchase TV Theme Songs on CD and other series soundtracks
Purchase TV show t-shirts, caps, mugs, and other unique items
Purchase TV Posters
• Games
Guess the Sitcom Character Game
Games Message Board
• Watch Sitcoms Online
Fancast
Hulu
Joost
Veoh
TV.com
In2TV
TV4U
Netflix
TV Land
ABC
CBS
FOX
NBC
The CW
TheWB.com
TBS
ABC Family
The Minisode Network
• Questions or Comments?
Contact Form
About Us

The Color Honeymooners (The Jackie Gleason Show) - Collection 1


TITLE: THE COLOR HONEYMOONERS (THE JACKIE GLEASON SHOW) - COLLECTION 1


Info:

DVD Release Date: June 27, 2006 (MPI Home Video)
Color
MSRP: $39.98
Number of Discs: 3
Number of Episodes: 9
Running Time: approx. 450 minutes
Running Time of Special Features: 9 minutes
Languages: English
Subtitles: English; Closed Captioned
Special Features: "The Great Gleason Express" featurette


Introduction:

The Jackie Gleason show kicked off its 1966-1967 season by re-introducing "The Honeymooners." But it wasn't your typical "Honeymooners." The show was now in color and musical performances were added. Art Carney rejoined Jackie Gleason, but Sheila McRae took over as Alice and Jane Kean took over as Trixie. The Color Honeymooners Set 1 includes nine of the one hour "Jacking Gleason Show" re-mastered and unedited.


Episodes Included:

Nine full-length episodes are included on this set, and is the full "Trip to Europe" batch.

Disc 1
1 - In 25 Words or Less (9/17/1966)
2 - Ship of Fools (10/1/1966)
3 - Poor People of Paris, The (10/8/1966)

Disc 2
4 - Confusion, Italian Style (10/15/1966)
5 - Curse of the Kramdens (10/29/1966)
6 - Mod Couple, The (Honeymooners in England, The) (11/12/1966)

Disc 3
7 - You're in the Picture (11/19/1966)
8 - We Spy (12/3/1966)
9 - Petticoat Jungle (12/10/1966)


Packaging:

The packaging for this set is very simple. On the cover are the four main cast members. The back features a nice description of the series. It's a single case (much like movies are released - except its clear). The three discs are inside of the case. Each disc features the exact same design - the same as the cover art. Disc 1 features episodes 1-3, Disc 2 features episodes 4-6 and Disc 3 features episode 7-9 and the sole bonus feature.


Menu Design and Navigation:

The menu features the same design as the cover art. Next to the cast picture are "live" scenes of episodes. It's quite unique and interesting. Underneath that is the list of episodes on that disc, followed by "Set Up" in which you go to another screen and can choose whether you want English Subtitles on or off. The design is quite simple, yet it's effective. There are chapter stops available.


Video and Audio Quality:

The video and audio are very…very good! The color is fantastic on the video and the audio is quite clear. A very, very good job on the re-mastering of these episodes! Each episode runs 48-49 minutes in length, so they are definitely UNCUT!


Special Features:

* The Great Gleason Express (approx. 9 minutes)

A fantastic bonus feature! It details Jackie Gleason deciding to move his show to Miami Beach, Florida, and how he rented a train - yes, a train - to transport himself, the cast and crew to Miami Beach. It includes still photographs as well as video of the trip. It's an awesome feature and I'm so glad it was included!


Final Comments:

Wow! I've never seen "The Color Honeymooners," so it was definitely a surprise seeing the cast start singing! It airs on American Life TV, if you are lucky enough to even get that cable channel. The show is a lot of fun and really brings back The Honeymooners! My only gripe is that nowhere on the set is a list of the episodes. You have to put in the disc and look at the menu to determine which episodes are on each disc. Overall, MPI did an amazing job and I can't wait for more sets!


Final Numbers (out of 5 stars - How our point system works)

Video Quality: 5/5
Audio Quality: 5/5
Special Features: 4/5
Menu Navigation/Design: 4/5
Overall: 4/5

-- Reviewed by TVJunkie101 (Shawn Eaton) on 06/10/06

To purchase the DVD, click below and help support SitcomsOnline.com:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000EXZFR6/ref=nosim/happydaysonline4-20

Questions or comments about this set? Post on our message board:

http://www.sitcomsonline.com/boards/showthread.php?t=174778


News Blog
Message Boards
Photo Galleries
DVD Reviews
Our Sitcom Sites
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
Y
Z / #
Other TV Links
Purchase TV Series on DVD
Purchase TV Series on VHS
Purchase TV Theme Songs on CD and other series soundtracks
Purchase TV show t-shirts, caps, mugs, and other unique items
Purchase TV Posters
Britcoms
Guess the Sitcom Character Game
Games Message Board
back to the main page


Please e-mail me with your sitcom related questions, sitcoms to add, and suggestions for additional links.

© 1999-2012, Todd Fuller Contact Form