Sitcoms Online
Home
News Blog
Message Boards
Photo Galleries
DVD and Blu-ray Reviews
Follow Us on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram
Our Sitcom Sites
• Sitcom Links, DVDs and Theme Songs
A / B / C / D / E / F / G /
H / I / J / K / L / M / N /
O / P / Q / R / S / T / U /
V / W / Y / Z / #
Other TV Links
• Merchandise
Purchase TV Series on DVD, Blu-ray or VHS
Purchase TV Theme Songs on CD and Other Series Soundtracks
Purchase TV Posters
• Games
Guess the Sitcom Character Game
Games Message Board
• Watch Sitcoms Online
Amazon Instant Video
Amazon Prime - Free Trial
Hulu Plus
Xfinity TV
YouTube
Veoh
TV.com
Netflix
TV Land
ABC
CBS
FOX
NBC
The CW
TBS
ABC Family
Crackle
Archive.org Classic TV Collection
• Questions or Comments?
About Us
Contact Form

The Best of The Cosby Show


TITLE: THE BEST OF THE COSBY SHOW


Info:

Release Date: September 25, 2007 (First Look Studios)
Color/1984-90
MSRP: $9.98
Number of Discs: 1
Number of Episodes: 10
Running Time: 220 minutes
Total Run Time of Special Features: None
English, Closed Captioned
Special Features: None


Introduction:

The Cosby Show is back on DVD, this time on a single disc set featuring 10 of the greatest episodes of all-time! The show was TV's #1 show for a record five consecutive years (1985 to 1990) and youíll see episodes from that era on this single disc set from First Look Studios. The Huxtables re-defined the perception of the African-American family by depicting a happily married, dual-profession couple that successfully raised their children in an uplifting, positive environment.

The Best of The Cosby Show contains 10 classic episodes of the legendary series as they appeared on network television. For the first time ever, the Huxtable magic that spanned 8 seasons can be captured on one disc. This is a must-have not only for Cosby lovers, but also for all television lovers.


Episodes Included / Notable Guest Stars:

We have a single disc set featuring 10 classic episodes that spanned from 1984-90. The following are the episodes included:

#5 A Shirt Story (Season 1, 10/18/1984)
Denise tries to make a copy of a designer shirt for Theo.

#27 Happy Anniversary (Season 2, 10/10/1985)
Russell and Anna celebrate their 49th wedding anniversary. The family performs Ray Charles' "Night Time Is the Right Time" and sends Russell and Anna to Europe.

#46 Theoís Holiday (Season 2, 4/3/1986)
After saying he'll have no problem making it in the real world, the Huxtables teach and show Theo about the "real world."

#64 Say Hello to a Good Buy (Season 3, 1/22/1987)
Cliff buys a new car. Rudy cuts some animal pictures out of Cliff's expensive books for school. Sinbad guest stars as Mr. Sarette.

#70 I Know That You Know (Season 3, March 19, 1987)
Clair and the kids attempt to use Elvin and Sondra's engagement to fool Cliff.

#75 Call of the Wild (Season 4, 9/24/1987)
Sondra and Elvin come back from their honeymoon and have shocking news for Cliff and Clair.

#99 Together Again and Again (Season 5, 10/6/1988)
Denise drops out of from Hillman and Sondra is pregnant.

#102 Move It (Season 5, 10/27/1988)
Everyone wants pregnant Sondra and Elvin to find a new house.

#125 Denise: The Saga Continues (Season 6, 9/21/1989)
Denise comes back from Africa...with a husband...and a child.

#144 Isnít it Romantic (Season 6, 2/22/1990)
Cliff, Elvin and Martin compete for most romantic husband.


Packaging:

The packaging is an amaray case. We have The Cosby Show logo on the front with The Best of mention on top of that. We have Cosby in a gray Hillman sweatshirt holding some food with the American flag. Three little circle photos are on the left of him of Clair, Rudy & Theo, and Denise. This artwork is different from the one announced and on websites such as Amazon. Therefore, they must have changed it at the last minute. I like it. The back of the case has about five screenshots from the episodes, with a nice synopsis of the series and set. Below that, we are given the 10 episode titles on this set.

The artwork on the disc itself is the same as the cover art...Bill Cosby with food and holding a flag. I think the food looks like a Philadelphia cheese steak and some ice cream.


Menu Design and Navigation:

The menu is very nice. We have tons of moving images, and then they stop so we are left with three columns of images in a blue background. The theme is playing in the background. I think it is the season four theme, the one that says ďhey!,Ē the tap dance style theme. The options are Play All and Episode Selections. When we click on the latter, we get the episode number, title, while another theme is playing in the background. It sounds like the season 6 theme when they were in formal clothing. The background for this sub-menu is also blue and we get a photo of Cosby.


Video and Audio Quality:

The video and audio both are great, and the season 1-4 episodes on this set are of course the same as the season sets. One thing I would like to mention is that if you all remember The Cosby Show Season 1 DVD had all edited episodes. This best of set has one episode from Season 1 titled Shirt Story. That episode on this disc runs 23:38. I believe on the season one DVD it was much shorter, more in the 21-22 minute range. Therefore, it looks like maybe we have it unedited now! The Cosby Show DVDs started releasing unedited episodes starting with season two. So if this episode is indeed unedited, let us hope First Look releases another version of season one soon so we can have them unedited. Each episode on this set has three chapter stops. One for the opening theme/first half of the episode, the second chapter is the second half of the episode, and chapter three is the closing credits.

Here are the runtimes:
#5 A Shirt Story 23:38
#27 Happy Anniversary 24:38
#46 Theoís Holiday 24:18
#64 Say Hello to a Good Buy 23:57
#70 I Know That You Know 24:38
#75 Call of the Wild 24:38
#99 Together Again and Again 24:08
#102 Move It 24:08
#125 Denise: The Saga Continues 23:48
#144 Isnít it Romantic 23:49


Special Features:

We once again do not get any special features on this set, as we didnít on the seasons three and four DVDs. I wasnít expecting any on this disc, but letís hope we get some in future season sets.


Final Comments:

This set is actually a good buy because we have the potential of that season one episode unedited. It is a cheap buy, so it might be worth it. Plus, we get a preview on seasons 5 and 6 here as we get a few episodes from those seasons on this disc. The video and audio for those look good, as well as the run times. So, Iím sure if you are a lover of this show, youíll get this set for sure! You get little Rudy and even little Olivia on this disc! What better way to celebrate this show with a classic episode collection!


Final Numbers (out of 5 stars - How our point system works)

Video Quality: 4/5
Audio Quality: 4/5
Special Features: 0/5
Menu Navigation/Design: 5/5
Overall: 4/5

-- Reviewed by pavanbadal on 09/18/07

To purchase the DVD, click below and help support SitcomsOnline.com:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000RW5BZA/ref=nosim/happydaysonline4-20

Questions or comments about this set? Post on our message board:

http://www.sitcomsonline.com/boards/showthread.php?t=209571


News Blog
Message Boards
Photo Galleries
DVD Reviews
Our Sitcom Sites
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
Y
Z / #
Other TV Links
Purchase TV Series on DVD
Purchase TV Series on VHS
Purchase TV Theme Songs on CD and other series soundtracks
Purchase TV show t-shirts, caps, mugs, and other unique items
Purchase TV Posters
Britcoms
Guess the Sitcom Character Game
Games Message Board
back to the main page


Please e-mail me with your sitcom related questions, sitcoms to add, and suggestions for additional links.

© 1999-2014, Todd Fuller Contact Form