PDA

View Full Version : AHHHHHHH! Help!


Kay Scarpetta
05-03-2003, 03:49 PM
You guys..... my KaZaA is completely screwed up. I click on the "Web" page, and here is what I get! (see attatched picture)

Only, under the black squares, there's all porn banners! I've asked all my friends, but they still get KaZaA's main page. Is this happening to anyone else? I've tried uninstalling/re-downloading it and everything. Nothing works. Should I just use KaZaA Lite?

-*Leah*-
05-03-2003, 03:54 PM
I dunno whats wrong with it. My KaZaA has never done that before.

dawsongirl
05-03-2003, 04:15 PM
That's weird. Try Kazaa lite.

Czas na Zywiec
05-03-2003, 04:15 PM
No, sorry. All I ever get are ads about free condoms or free lube. ;)

:joke: Kidding. I wish I could be of more help though.

Mr. Stefani
05-03-2003, 04:19 PM
sorry, i don't know whats wrong with it. I use kazaa lite.

Truth
05-03-2003, 04:33 PM
Sounds like a type of spyware doing this, a porn dialer or something... Not any type of spyware that comes with Kazaa Though...


You can always scan and remove the spyware with Spybot Search and Destroy (http://security.kolla.de/) Or Ad-aware (www.lavasoftusa.com)


However you dont want to delete the spyware that comes with kazaa as then Kazaa will not work right... If you were to use Ad-aware I would suggest when u download it, to update it, then do a scan and post your log file on there support forum (www.lavasoftsupport.com)

Tell them your situation that you have these porn things coming up but that you want to keep kazaa and they will help :)


Hope that helped...

Truth
05-03-2003, 04:36 PM
You also want to be careful using ad-aware/spybot because use it wrong and you can do some bad things to your comp which is why I say to post the log file on there support forums for step by step instructions on what to do.... So when you go to this "Web" page and this stuff comes up, is it an actual site or what? If so whats the addy? Well Im not sure if you sure post that addy here lol

Kay Scarpetta
05-03-2003, 07:22 PM
Originally posted by AAOT
You also want to be careful using ad-aware/spybot because use it wrong and you can do some bad things to your comp which is why I say to post the log file on there support forums for step by step instructions on what to do.... So when you go to this "Web" page and this stuff comes up, is it an actual site or what? If so whats the addy? Well Im not sure if you sure post that addy here lol

Well it's the main page that loads, just like the main KaZaA page would load. I've looked into that Lavasoft Ad-Aware thing, also. But it's so weird....the link that says "Take my back to KaZaA" or whatever it says, when you click on that, it takes you to a porn site, not back to the KaZaA main page. Gah... I think KaZaA Lite is the way to go

Truth
05-03-2003, 07:56 PM
Originally posted by Miss Karly


Well it's the main page that loads, just like the main KaZaA page would load. I've looked into that Lavasoft Ad-Aware thing, also. But it's so weird....the link that says "Take my back to KaZaA" or whatever it says, when you click on that, it takes you to a porn site, not back to the KaZaA main page. Gah... I think KaZaA Lite is the way to go


Yea sounds like a type of spyware but i dunno, Ive never used kazaa so well.. lol , Keep in mind getting rid of Kazaa will not get rid of spyware... Not even the spyware that comes with Kazaa... I think the first thing to figuring it out is finding out if it is spyware and what it is called then from there i can find info about it and etc...



hmm... install anything recently? Is your IE brower homepage different then it used to be?

pandora_spocks
05-04-2003, 12:24 AM
I also use Kazaa Lite only I'm on the old version. I don't update anything usually 'cause the newer features suck. I suggest you download Kazaa Lite though.